My big sister.

Let me tell you a little about my sister.

Her name is Amanda and she is 4.5 years my senior. She’s about 5’6, light brown hair, and she’s stunning. The hilarious part is, she has no idea whatsoever. When she was 5 or 6 she fell off her bike and went teeth first into the curb, knocking all of her front teeth backwards and breaking her jaw. When she was a little older, she had braces to correct the damage of the curb, and to this day she still has a retainer cemented in behind her bottom teeth. Needless to say, my sister has the most beautiful teeth, and the most beautiful smile there is. She has fair Irish skin, and eyes that change colors so often, you can’t label them.

She has been through some unbelievable bull-shit in her life, things that you couldn’t even script into a bad movie, and has come out on top in spite of  it all. Despite the horrible things she’s gone through, and the incredible struggles she still faces in her day to day life, she is ridiculously lucky and has a wonderful life. She lives in a beautiful house with her loving husband who would do ANYthing for her and her unbelievably intelligent and adorable 4.5 year old son, Ollie. She has a great full time job that, while it may not be what she grew up dreaming about doing, she’s amazing at. Her co-workers love her, her supervisor adores her and is extremely proud of her, and they value her and the work she does for them. She’s not rich and they don’t always have the extra money it takes to do the fun things on the weekends (but really, who does??) but she takes care of her family and they always have a roof over their heads, clean clothes on their backs, and food in their stomachs. She is phenomenal with her finances and keeps them organized to the extreme, which allows her to budget for every little thing that happens. Her intelligence is unreal and she is the finest writer I know. I like to think that I have a way with words, but it is nothing compared to this woman.

My biggest dream for my sister would be for her to realize the greatness in herself that I see every day. She has so much potential to do the amazing things in her life that she has always wanted to do, and I wish that she would see all of her talents and desires as fuel to propel her into success. I wish for her to stop being so hard on herself, and to look at all the great things she has in her life instead of being bummed out about all the little things that don’t work out sometimes.

I hope that someday she figures out how fucking incredible she is, and that she stomps all over her life and conquers all the things she wants to conquer. For living a seemingly ordinary life on the outside, she is the most extraordinary person I know and I cannot believe that I was lucky enough to be put on this world to be her little sister.

3 thoughts on “My big sister.

  1. elizabeth says:

    I almost cried reading this post. Kyle you have painted Amanda just the way the rest of us see her!! You are both lucky to be the other’s sister and I am lucky to have you both in my life 🙂

What do YOU think??

