Day 23: a month/year of your life when you were happiest and why.

SENIOR YEAR!

To be fair, some awful things happened during my senior year. I had a few best friends break some serious BFF codes, and the nasty breakup with PJ halfway through the year… But when I look back, it was honestly the best year on record. I was a senior in high school, and I was the first one to turn 18 out of all of my friends so I felt like that much more of an adult.

I felt like the end of high school and my childhood had arrived, and I was on top of the world. I had made it into the best chorus group in the school,

was a total teacher’s pet,

was still a part of the athletic trainers,

was in orchestra,

I had a kick ass job that I still miss…

And in addition to getting the opportunity to be a part of so many different activities and mixed in among a bunch of great acquaintances, waning friendships  and one backstabbing tramp, I became friends with the women that I am lucky enough to still call my best friends today.

I was one of six in the ‘Pink Bracelet Crew.’ It’s silly looking back on it now, but the six of us were inseparable. We did everything together and everything for each other. We promised we’d always be there, and for the most part that deal has held up. Two of them are still my best friends, two have moved away and on with their lives but I still love them, and one has been cut out. It’s a long story that doesn’t need to be aired out right here, but even with the mess it turned into, the 6 of us were tight back then and we ALWAYS had a good time.

I went to prom with Geoffrey, my best friend who was and still is totally into guys, which made my prom night fabulous and stress free! I’m sure my parents were relieved they didn’t have to worry about anything in THAT department. Laura was the only other girl in our group who was a senior, and took a friend of ours, Billy. We looked INCREDIBLE, and had the most fun a group of friends could ever have on Prom night.

Without going into detail, prom night was unforgettable, and from it my friends and I took away memories that we will always have and always love to share.

Not to mention, senior year brought me my guy.

When you experience a great tragedy in your life, you tend to split your life up into two segments of time. Before the event, and after. My senior year and the summer after it were the last times I was just an innocent kid, untouched by tragedy. I’m not in any way saying that I haven’t had any good times post-tragedy, I’m merely saying that it was kind of the last phase of innocence in a way. Changes who you are, the way you look at things, ya know?

Anyways. Enough of my little photo montage…. Senior year kicked ass 🙂

What do YOU think??

