Weight a minute!!

Haha, get it? WAIT a minute-WEIGHT a minute? I crack myself up.

 

SO. Let’s talk about this impending Facebook deactivation for a moment, shall we? Bwahaha. Excuse me if I act a little silly, I still have a hard time believing I’m going to do this too.

 

It honestly stems from my insane desire to lose 50 lbs. I know, I know. ‘KYLE, You can’t POSSIBLY have 50 lbs to lose!!!!’ (at least, that’s what I’m imagining you’re thinking. Just let me have that, okay?) Can people lose weight while continuing to use Facebook? Of course, it would be a ridiculous notion to think otherwise. Here’s my problem. I have this awful habit of documenting EVERY THING I DO. If you’re reading this, you’re probably my friend on Facebook, and there’s no way you can even try to deny this fact. Part of the Facebook deactivation comes because I feel badly that my life is slowly beginning to revolve around food and the gym (okay, it ALWAYS revolved around food, but in a different way now, jeez) and I’m worried people are going to get DANG sick and tired of me, if they’re not already. I’m still on Twitter and Instagram (@kylethegirl) but I don’t have nearly as many followers there, annnnd those are completely different environments. The documentation of the food I eat, what I accomplish at the gym, my progress… It’s for a reason. It’s all for accountability. If I let the world in on all the hard work I’m putting into this, I’m a lot less likely to give up because I’ll feel that I won’t only be letting myself down, I’ll be letting EVERYONE down. THAT’S why I’ve gotten so posty-posty about all this, and why I’ll be keeping Twitter, Instagram, and my blog. I only have a handful of followers on Twitter that I actually know in real life. The majority of the people that I follow and who follow me, are all people off in cyber-land that are also working hard towards some type of fitness goals, so it’s nice to surround myself with them. I don’t have to feel badly about posting a picture of every dang meal I eat, or about every workout I complete, because they’re all doing the exact same thing. There, it’s encouraged. Since this is going to be my main focus for the next six months, it makes sense for me to keep that community that exudes confidence, determination and inspiration around, and to shed the community that thrives on drama, negativity and self-importance.

I’m going to try my damndest to not log-in to Facebook from July 1st, 2012, to January 1st, 2013. 184 days. 26 weeks. 26 weeks may feel like a long time, but think about the fact that right now, as you’re reading this, we’re in the 26th week of 2012 already. How FAST has this year flown by?! There are way too many success stories, way too many people who have completely turned their lives around, for me to not be able to do the same thing. But in order to do that, I have to throw as much focus on this project as I possibly can. The fact that giving up Facebook is this big of a deal in the first place is proof enough that it needs to be done anyways, and for a thousand other reasons than the ones I’ve already mentioned.

I want to shock the hell out of everyone, plain and simple. I have my friends that I hang out with, and I will continue to see them on a regular basis, and they’ll get to see me during this process…. But a lot of this is about showing the world what can be accomplished in six months when you really want something, and when you work your ass off. And I mean that literally. I need my ass, OFF. I’ve played around with losing weight before, lost a couple lbs here, a couple lbs there… But I don’t know as if anyone really grasps how serious I am about it this time. I mean hell, I’ve been to the gym 17 out of the last 19 days, and have lost 7 lbs. That’s not too shabby of a start my friends, not too shabby at all.

So that’s what it’s all about. That’s what my life is turning into. This is not a diet, this is a lifestyle change, with a 6 month jumpstart- a shift in priorities. If you follow me on Twitter or Instagram, just know that it’s going to consist mostly of food and gym crap. The blog will continue to be what it’s always been, which is just a place for me to ramble on for paragraphs at a time about things that no one cares about.

 

It’s about to get reeeeaaallll y’aallllll.

 

3 thoughts on “Weight a minute!!

  1. Bethany Lawrence says:

    I’m following you the best I can! I have also mainly given up a lot of social networking as well. I might log in once a day, if I’m lucky. I haven’t played a facebook game in probably 4-5 months (which is amazing) since I was way too addicted. I’m done with the games, I’m not done with FB, but I’ve cut way back and use it like another form of e-mail and online chat.

  2. ellemnopea says:

    I did the same thing a few months ago, for the same exact reason as you. I deactivated my facebook, joined instagram and started using my twitter account, seldomnly. But I did not start on my goal to lose 50-70 lbs. I started a new facebook with other intentions, but feel terrible about it, b/c my main reason was to come back having lost weight. I need to get serious. I found you through LauraDens a couple of days ago and i think you two are amazing. I hope your inspiring story can inspire me to do something. Congrats on your weight loss and lifestyle change. I’ll be following you! 🙂

    • kylethegirl says:

      Thank you for your kind words, and you can totally pull it off!! You have to want it more than anything. And when you do, it won’t seem like work. It’ll just be something that has to get done

What do YOU think??

