Is anyone even READING this?

I was talking to my mom about my last blog post, and she made a really good point. In my post, I said;

“Since this is going to be my main focus for the next six months, it makes sense for me to keep that community that exudes confidence, determination and inspiration around, and to shed the community that thrives on drama, negativity and self-importance.”

She made a really good point, saying that it sounds like I’m throwing all my FB friends under the bus and that I’m insinuting basically that they’re not important to me and all that. I totally see where she’s coming from, and I wanted to clear that up in case anyone else was thinking the same thing. I tried explaining to her that my Facebook friends would PROBABLY understand what I meant by that, I’m hoping they did at least.

Everyone is on Facebook for a different reason, and utilizes it’s features in different ways. Some use it primarily to keep tabs on people, some use it primarily to promote their businesses, some use it primarily to photo-document certain aspects of their life, some use it primarily to keep in touch with others. Somewhere under everyone’s good intentions, things tend to get judgemental and negative from time to time, whether it’s a nasty comment or a vague status update talking trash… I don’t think everyone is guilty of this 24/7, but many have contributed in one way or another, myself included. Just the other day, I got in this huge debate with a friend of a friend on a status update that our friend had posted on the new healthcare laws. It started off very adult and mature, and then comment by comment it went south until she’s actually turning to my personal character flaws. It was absolutely ridiculous. I LOVE being able to have discussions about things like that, but everyone takes everything so personally, it’s hard to keep above water.

It’s really hard to explain what I mean without calling anyone out in particular, but I hope no one was offended by what I said. I’m pretty sure everyone on Facebook has said, at one point or another, “I just can’t take this anymore, this is silly,” and has contemplated leaving it all.

It’s interesting, I gave my Facebook friends my contact information, and asked for theirs, so that we could continue having personal relationships with one another after I’d deactivated Facebook. I figured, I’m friends with these people on Facebook, I obviously have been interested in them and their lives at some point, so even if we’ve never hung out with each other in the real world, wouldn’t it be cool to? Only 6 people who’s information I didn’t already have, responded to me with their phone numbers and email addresses. That tells me that 200 some odd people that I was ‘friends’ with on Facebook, don’t really have any interest in knowing me in the real world. I was pretty disappointed with this, I mean, not that I expected that I would actually receive 200 email addresses and make plans to hang out with 200 new friends… Why pretend to be interested in my personal life by being my ‘friend’ on Facebook, if you’re not willing to know me outside of the internet? I had a few people comment on the fact that I was leaving Facebook and tell me that they were going to miss my posts, please don’t leave FB because I’ll miss your funny status updates, all that… Yet even after I suggested that people sign up to get my blog posts emailed to them (it’s anonymous, I don’t get notified who’s on the list), not a single person did.

It was just a real eye-opener, and made leaving FB surprisingly easy. Turns out no one ACTUALLY gives a damn about what I do or say haha. AND because there’s no Facebook for this post to be automatically updated to, I’m pretty sure the only person who’s going to read this is my mom.

Hi mom!!!

That’s cool though, I love her, she’s my biggest fan, and I’m hers.

 

That is SO enough talk about poopy Facebook.

 

In other news, I had a phenomenal weekend. I murdered my workout at the gym on Saturday, and then spent the next 24 hours with my wonderful boyfriend. Saturday marked 2 years for us! We went and saw ‘Ted’ which was SO much funnier than I thought it was going to be… Had lunch at Texas Roadhouse, and then later in the evening we went to see one of his co-worker’s band play at a local bar. Both of our internal clocks have us programmed to wake up pretty early, so when we woke up before 8am on Sunday, we just watched Friends for a while! Had some Mexican food for lunch, then I went and saw Magic Mike with my mom and my sister. (De. Licious.) Woke up this am, and only gained a pound over the weekend which is SO much better than what I thought was going to happen. Back on the grind this week though, NO SLIP UPS, and no skipping the gym. 2 pounds this week is the goal!

 

I hope everyone (that means you, Mom!!) has an awesome week. The weather is warm, we have a mid-week holiday coming, and life is just flat-out good. Spend time with the people who are important to you, make good decisions, and do things that make YOU happy.

It’s a good life 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Is anyone even READING this?

  1. Cherie @ Cherie Runs This says:

    Haha, well I just read it. 🙂

    Well, for a while I couldn’t tell if my FB “friends” didn’t read my blog because they weren’t interested, didn’t have time or couldn’t care less about my weight loss journey/fitness. LOL, I just said ‘the heck with it’ with most of them and kept on posting my blog updates on there/talking about fitness. Slowly some came around…oddly enough, the more weight I lost. I guess people were like, “Hmmm, maybe she knows what she’s talking about/is funny/interesting/etc. Haa. Eventually, I created a fan page for my blog and just started posting fitness/blog posts there there. But what gets me most now is that after I’ve lost about 84 pounds, the same people who wouldn’t read it before are the ones bombarding me with questions. And reading. 😉

    Good luck to you!

    • kylethegirl87 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! It’s just crazy, people will pretend like they’re interested in you and what you’re doing but apparently they’re not. I was just really surprised with that outcome after I had been receiving so much encouragement and positive feedback from people. And I know from my site stats that people read my blog! When I post, they read. But I guess they were just bored on Facebook and clicked the links because they had nothing else better to do hahaha. I’m not at all going to give up what I’m doing, writing interests ME, and that’s all that matters at this point in my journey.

      Thank you so much for your kind words, and congratulations on your accomplishments. 84 pounds is incredible, you should be proud!!

  2. Valerie B says:

    I read your blog, Kyle. I’m hoping to make it to the gym tomorrow, but I planned to go in the am. We should hang out outside the gym as well. 🙂

What do YOU think??

