SHAKEOLOGY.

SHAKEOLOGY.

The bag advertises that it’s the ‘healthiest meal of the day,’ that it’s like going to the salad bar, and getting five plates. Reading the nutritional facts, it’s hard to argue the nutritional value in this stuff. It’s supposedly the latest and greatest in the meal replacement world. It’s 150 calories per scoop, and jam packed full of nutrients.

http://www.shakeology.com/c/document_library/get_file?uuid=1d66051a-61fd-4199-841b-16d24dae4c7b&groupId=59860 (PDF of the nutrition label.)

I’ve heard from a LOT of people that the chocolate version is the only one worth trying, and that it actually tastes like a chocolate milkshake. Have I mentioned how much I LOVE chocolate milkshakes? I even watched a bunch of YouTube videos on random people who just talk about tasting it for the first time, what it’s like…  There are what seems like a million possible recipes to make this shake, but I wanted to start with the most basic.

I blended my chocolate shake mix with a cup of almond milk and ice. It was alright, tasted a little mix-y to me, so I added a little more of the almond milk. I don’t know, maybe it’s not a good kind of almond milk, or maybe I just don’t like that combination, but I’m underwhelmed to say the least. I’ve got more than half my shake left and I haven’t touched it in like 45 minutes. It’s a weird mix-y aftertaste. By ‘mix-y’ I mean it tastes exactly how the mix smells in the bag. It’s weird. It LOOKS and feels just like a chocolate shake though, so there’s that.

I’m going to try to power through the rest of this one, and just try a different recipe tomorrow morning. I mean, it’s got a money back guarantee so I really have nothing to lose. I might as well go all out and really put this stuff to the test. If I still don’t enjoy it at the end of the month, I have no problem sending back the empty bag and getting my $120.00 back.

Oh yeah. It’s that expensive.

I don’t know, it’s only the first day. Maybe I’ll develop a taste for it?

I just sucked back like a third of it, and it’s still just, yyeeeuuuuuchhh. It’s really hard to explain how it tastes, I mean, it’s not like, “OH FUCK get that out of my mouth!” But it certainly does not taste like any chocolate milkshake I’ve ever had. It definitely has that ‘This is good for you, we’re trying to make it as enjoyable as possible” taste to it. You know the one I mean.

I think I’ll be throwing peanut butter in tomorrows. Seems like a popular version. I feel like maybe there’s just something wrong with me, because everyone I’ve talked to about it just absolutely loves it and can’t get enough of it. We’ll see!

4 thoughts on “SHAKEOLOGY.

  1. Sara Jane says:

    Ok. I have tried all protein powders (vegan ones anyways). The best is PlantFusion Chocolate!! It’s not expensive and it’s soooo good.

What do YOU think??

