HEALTHY COOKIE DOUGH!

Well. Minus the chocolate chips. BUT THERE’S ONLY A FEW! I promise, keep reading, make it, you won’t regret it.

So my friend James and I get together every now and then to have dinner. Now, I’m a really good cook, (Kucharski in Polish means ‘Chef’, no big deal) but James has a way with the kitchen so for the most part we just do whatever he thinks of. This kid will literally make his own sauces, dressings, it’s crazy. That’s stuff I can’t do. There’s usually a delicious beer or wine involved, but I told him recently that I need to get back on track with eating well and everything and that our food parties have to change. So we nixed the drinking, and he promised healthy foods. He definitely delivered with dinner the other night, chicken, quinoa and some ridiculous sauce he made from avocado, greek yogurt, garlic and lemon juice. So good. ANYWAYS I found this recipe for healthy cookie dough and told him that we HAD to make it happen. SO HERE GOES.

First of all, this is not my recipe, I did not come up with it. It’s from a blog called chocolatecoveredkatie.com and she loves turning our favorite decadent desserts and treats into something we don’t have to feel guilty about snacking on! Her original post can be founnndddd here: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/05/23/want-to-eat-an-entire-bowl-of-cookie-dough/

So, the ingredients she called for were as follows. Note for my good vegan buddy Sara Jane, I did say I’m pretty sure you can eat this.. Now the recipe DOES call for milk, but it calls for milk ‘IF NEEDED.’ So I don’t know as if you even need it. And I’m not sure what your rules for chocolate chips are, but if you don’t eat them, I’m pretty sure you have a substitute!! If not, I swear the dip tastes just like cookie dough even without them.

  • 1 1/2 cups chickpeas or white beans (1 can, drained) (250g)
  • 1/8 tsp plus 1/16 tsp salt
  • tiny bit over 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup nut butter (You can get away with using only 3 tbsp. If you use peanut butter, it’ll have a slight “pb cookie dough” taste)
  • up to 1/4 cup milk of choice, only if needed
  • Sweetener (see note below, for amount)
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips or these: Sugar-Free Chocolate Chips
  • 2 to 3 tbsp oats (or flaxmeal) (You can omit for a thinner dip.)

James and I didn’t really know what ‘nut butter’ was so we went with the peanut butter. We added a TINY bit extra vanilla, just because I thought it might cut down on the Peanut Butter taste. We used literally just a splash of milk, but I’m not really sure if we even needed it. And we went with the 3 tbsp of oats because.. well just because I like oats, so. That’s why. She has a section on her blog about ‘sweeteners’ because there are a few different routes you can take. We went with the agave nectar route, 3tbsp. Food processor-ed it all together, threw in 1/3 cup of chocolate chips and called it a day. I’m glad we stuck to the recommended 1/3 cup of chocolate chips. We contemplated using more, but then decided that we’d feel guilty if we did, and it ended up being more than enough anyways.

We used it as a dip for graham crackers and it was SO STINKING GOOD YOU GUYS. It was SO easy. I definitely recommend you all try this!!!

 

 

 

One thought on “HEALTHY COOKIE DOUGH!

  1. Sara Jane says:

    That is 100% a vegan recipe, intentionally!! Hell yea. I will make this soon. I have raw cacao chips to use!! Thanks lady.

What do YOU think??

