Sixty pounds, GONE.

after weight

First of all, it’s freezing in my office right now, I don’t know HOW my hands are going to make it through the day. Or this post. Holy frijole. I don’t know why I deemed that important enough to share, but there you have it. Cold.

Laura and I have this Facebook page now, http://www.facebook.com/flufftobuff , if you’ve been living under a rock haha… And most of our almost 6,000 followers are former followers of Laura’s. I’ve had a couple people ask me about my start- and that just want to know a little bit about me so I thought I’d take a few minutes to lay it out. If you’re a regular reader here, you’ve heard this all before- but I want to catch everyone up!

HEY! My name is Kyle, I’m 25 years old and I live on the east coast. I was never HUGE growing up, but I was definitely a little chunkster in middle school. I was always tall, which always helped spread the weight around. I never really paid a lot of attention to how much I weighed, and I don’t remember a lot about sizes I was wearing throughout high school. I remember wearing a size 10 dress to prom my freshman year of high school, my prom dress when I was a senior was a 12. I know prom dresses aren’t really the best way to gauge sizes, but that’s all I remember. I remember wearing a size 13 jeans at one point in high school, I don’t know when. So senior year of high school I went to the beach a lot with my friends, and while I wasn’t so disgusting I couldn’t be out in public, I was definitely bigger than the rest of my friends.

18th BDAY

HSTUMMY

I was 18 in both of these pictures, and looking back, NOT FAT. Again, not thin, not a small girl, but not fat. I knew nothing of fat at this point.

I went to college in the fall of ’06, joined a sorority and went to way too many parties. Summer of 2007 was eventful to say the least. I fell in love HARD with a boy in April, celebrated the birth of my nephew in June, grieved with my family when my nephew’s father committed suicide in August, and was dumped immediately upon returning from the funeral. I was emotionally wrecked at this point, and when I went back up to school a few days later for my sophomore year, I lasted less than a week. I came home with the plans of taking only a semester off, but one semester turned into two, which turned into never returning to that University. By the summer of 2008, I had gained a the first little bit of weight.

summer08

I turned 21 in the fall of 2008, and behaved as any 21 year old does. I spent the next year pretty much drinking whenever I wasn’t working. Packed on a few more lbs. By the summer of 2009, I was even bigger.

august 2009

Don’t mind the ridiculous hair color.This picture was taken in August of 2009 at my sister’s bridal shower. I wore a size 14 gown to her wedding.

Another year went by, more and more of my friends were turning 21, the more I was going out, the more I was eating, the less I was DOING. Summer of 2010 gives us this gem.

fat 2010

Hoooooly….. Granted, I was in a musical at this point, I was wearing two bras and that low-cut shirt for a reason, BUT WOW. That’s a big girl. At this point, I had gotten back together with my high school sweetheart who was living in Louisiana at the time. (this is not the boy that dumped me after the funeral.) We had kept in contact since he’d moved to Louisiana in 2007, and decided to give things another go. We started dating long distance in June of 2010, right around when this picture was taken. I moved to Louisiana in September, came back home to visit for Halloween- when this picture was taken.

fat fall 2010

Just getting wider and wider as time goes by. Can see it in the belly, in the ridiculous face I’m making.. It’s all over.

Living in Louisiana for over a year was hell on my body. I was a smoker, a big time drinker, I didn’t ever work out or do ANYthing besides sit on my ass and watch Netflix and stuff my face. I didn’t have my family or my friends, all I had was my boyfriend- and I’m not saying this is his fault, but he didn’t care about his body either. I’m as serious as a heart attack, literally, when I say that we ate fast food five days out of the week. Makes me want to vom at this point thinking about all the crap I ate. We were just lazy and fat and disgusting. These pictures are horrifying, but they are what they are. Summer of 2011. (apparently I only ever took pictures in the summertime?)

fatfaceAugust 2011

fatterinLA

fatinLA

I don’t know what I weigh there, all I know is I moved back in December of 2011, and when I weighed myself on February first of 2012, I was a whopping 218 lbs.

218 side 218 front

These are the two pictures my sister took of me on February 1st, 2012- 218lbs. We were starting a family weight loss challenge. I didn’t take it seriously, I made myself feel better every week when I lost the weigh-ins by downing a bottle of wine at dinner. June came around, my brother in law won the challenge, and I still weighed 210lbs. It was about a week after the challenge ended that I thought to myself, ‘If I can’t even use a family weight loss challenge as enough motivation to lose weight, what the hell am I going to do?’ I was MISERABLE in my own skin, and I wanted out. I started looking online to try and figure out what I was going to do, when I came across Laura. My 210lbs at 5’10” looked a hell of a lot like her 195 at 5’6″. All she did was stop eating bullshit food, and work her ass off. I stalked the crap out of her YouTube channel, bought an exercise and food log, joined Twitter, and got a gym membership.

June 10th:

210 front

210 side A

Look at that face! That girl is pissed. She was SO sad… Honestly, for the longest time I just thought I was going to be fat forever. I saw fat people all the time, and I just thought I was going to be one of them.

I have not looked back since that day. I woke up this morning and weighed myself at 4:30am, and about died when the scale registered in at 158.9lbs. I have lost 52lbs from the time those last two pictures were taken, and 60 since last February. THIS IS MADNESS.

I started off by doing 35 minutes on the elliptical every day, along with a 30 minute strength training circuit. I cut out soda and fast food, and I counted calories with a daily goal of 1200. That was it, a little over an hour a day for the first month, and I was down 12 lbs. 

After the first month, I had re-trained myself how to think of food. Food was not meant to be consumed because I was happy, or sad, or bored. Food is FUEL and while it’s okay to eat things you enjoy, it’s ONLY purpose is to fuel your body. THAT’S IT. I stopped counting calories because I finally had a grasp on how much I was supposed to be eating and of what. You do NOT need the freaking candy bar, it has NO PURPOSE TO YOU. Losing weight and having the body I’d always wanted was the number one TOP priority, and food wasn’t going to change that. My relationship with food has done a complete 180, now that I realize all these things. It’s not so hard to turn down the treats anymore either. Over the holidays there were what seemed like millions of baked goods in the office all day long. I’d walk up to the tables, stick my face in the cookies and take a big long whiff and appreciate how wonderful they smelled. When asked why I wasn’t having any, I just answered with, ‘Oh I don’t need them, but thanks!’ When asked how I managed to stay so strong and say no, I realized how easy it was for me. “I know what that brownie tastes like. I’ve had brownies before, I know what they taste like, I don’t need to eat one.” It was that simple.

I know it seems crazy for me to sit here and tell you that it CAN be easy to say no to these things, but I promise you. When you want it badly enough, you’ll do the work it requires, and it will be yours. The boy and I broke up in July, and while it was painful, it was necessary. I was sad, and then I got the hell over it. I became my number one priority for the first time in years, and I put that much more effort into bettering myself. I hit a pretty serious plateau around my 25th birthday this past October. I was between 172 and 176 for about 6 weeks, and I thought it was over. I cracked down on what I was eating, tried switching things up in the gym, and nothin’ doin’. A friend of mine called me up and invited me to his hot yoga class with him one night, and I went with him early in November. Immediately, I was hooked. I joined a yoga studio, took 6 classes within two weeks and was down almost 10lbs. It was just what I needed to push through that wall. I now do yoga 3-5 times a week in addition to my rigorous gym schedule. I want to try something new this month and do CrossFit, (I have a Groupon!) And I’m supposed to be trying rock climbing this weekend with a friend. I probably work out harder now than I even did in the beginning, because now that I’m in a healthy weight range, it’s harder to get off. In addition to that, I ENJOY working out. I LIKE being in the gym for hours. I honestly enjoy being on an elliptical for 2.5 hours. It’s not for everyone, but you don’t have to be THAT insane about it to lose weight. Just get off your butt and do SOMEthing. Don’t eat crap- the weight will take care of itself.

Not only am I in a better place physically than I’ve been in my entire life, but I’m also in a better place emotionally. I’m seriously so stinking happy all the time, it’s ridiculous. I quit smoking in September 2011, months before I started losing weight, and since this past summer I only drink 2-3 times a month. The bad habits are gone, and have been replaced with healthy, positive ones.

I also want to say a quick thank you to everyone who’s been with me through this whole process… My family, my friends- both real life AND on the internet! My support system is so vast and so strong, I don’t know what I’d do without it!

I was wearing a size 18 pants last summer and was well over 200lbs. Now I’m in a size 8, for the first time in my life, and weigh 158lbs. For the first time in my life. There’s still a lot of work to be done. A couple more lbs, I want muscles and abs and to tone the hell up… But overall, I’m so incredbly happy it’s unreal. I feel fantastic, I feel like I look fantastic… I feel like a whole new person, and I like her.

after1

after2

160

8

42 thoughts on “Sixty pounds, GONE.

  1. Casey Matson says:

    Kyle, seriously fantastic! You look amazing and I can tell that you are so proud of your hard work. You are my sole motivation to getting back in shape. I know I’ve lost it once and I can do it again. You are my push. I am so damn jealous of you. Keep up the fantastic work!

    -Casey

  2. Brooke says:

    Wow!!! That is so great! Now I know I can do this!! I have about 50 lbs to lose! I would like to get it done before I get married this fall! I need to step it up in the gym! Go girl!!! 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    You look amazing. Great work. Right after i have my second baby, I will for sure be starting up. Thank you for inspiring me.

  4. Becki Parsons says:

    awesome, i’m 25 and i just had my second baby 3 months ago. i currently sit at 205 and i have joined a gym and have started eating healthy and i cant seem to get any weight off. its nice to see others who were in my shoes.

  5. AmyLou says:

    I went through the motions this morning to make sure I was ready for zumba after work today, but I wasn’t feelin’ it until I read this post. Good for you, and thank you for sharing!!

  6. kristentonesup says:

    This is an amazing story! I started my weight loss at 190 January 2012 and got down to 156 in May 2012. Then I went traveling in Europe in August 2012 and put back on some weight and am now at 168 and have plateaued a bit, but am working SO HARD to get down to 150!! Thank you for sharing. Your discussion about food as fuel and just the way you explained it totally spoke to me and made so much sense! I LOVE chips and popcorn, but you’re right, they really are not doing anything for me 🙂 Thank you.

  7. ashleighreekerashleigh says:

    Kyle, you are such an inspiration. I started following both you and Laura’s blogs-instagrams-youtube…pretty much everything awhile ago. Your tummy at your beginning weight looks like mine. I have managed to lose 20lbs over the past year without being serious, but shortly before Christmas I made the choice to take care of the other 50lbs. BW: 194 CW: 171 GW: 130
    You are proof that consistency and hard work pays off. Thank you for being an example of that. Keep it up girl!
    God bless-

  8. Alison says:

    That’s my girl! Funny thing is, I KNOW you, I SEE you every day, I’ve WATCHED this amazing transformation, and I’m still flabbergasted when I see it put together like this. What I don’t think people realize is that even though you change, you don’t change. All of the wonderful things you were before (funny, really funny, smart, likeable, smart-ass, beautiful, an awesome writer, sweet, caring, ETC!), you still are those things. You didn’t lose anything but the weight and a “whatever” attitude. But what you ADDED to your life? You will never lose the knowledge that you can do ANY DAMN THING YOU SET YOUR MIND TO! Have I said this already?
    You rock, Ky! Love you,
    MamaTheGirl

  9. Kelly says:

    Thank you so much for this! I’m starting this journey for the 1000th time. I’m finally realizing I’ve got to make time for myself and that it’s only me holding myself back. Thanks again~

  10. Rachel says:

    I’m sure you hear it all the time, but you really are a huge inspiration. I love that you make no bones about how stinking hard this journey is, and how you have to work your butt off, and how it doesn’t come off overnight. Thank you for sharing your progress with us!

  11. jess says:

    SUCH an inspiration. I literally check out your twitter/instagram/blogs everyday to see if theres anything new! you are the main reason im started on this journey & the main reason im NOT giving up!! You are proof that anyone can do it!

  12. Tiana Hernandez says:

    OMG girl you look amazing. I also lost a lot of weight, I went from 198 pounds to 147 pounds (6 months) and it was hard but all worth it. If you really want something in life you will do everything and anything. I had always wanted to join the military but my weight was holding me from living my dreams, and I committed myself to workout everyday, eat healthy and I lost all my weigh and more and joined the U.S. Army. I served my country for 2 years, and found out I was PREGO! I ended up separating for personal reason when I found out I was pre go, now my son is about to be 2 years old and on my journey to get back to my pre-pregnacy weight. As of today I am 161 pounds, I workout at home with gym equipment and beach body workouts because that is what works best for my schedule. I have been stocking Laura, and Kyle and you ladies are beautiful and I know how much work and effort you have put in to get to where you are today, I have been there and after having a baby, I am in that journey again. Pain is just weakness leaving the body, train hard and get awesome results. Right now in life I am really lonely and so far away from everyone(residing overseas), and I am still committed. Being a military spouse is not easy, but instead of complaining and finding reasons why I can’t do something I look at the good side. I find ways to workout. When my husband is in the field training, its just me and my son. Sometimes we even workout together 🙂 Ladies you can do this! Kyle you look good, and keep it up.

    -Tiana

  13. Julie says:

    Kyle, I want to feel like you feel now. When you said that you said no to that brownie because you already know what a brownie tastes like, a light bulb went off in my head. Thank you so much for sharing this with me, well all of us. You are a motivation to me during my time of getting in the best shape of my life at 17. I do not want to be fat and sad when I am in my 20’s and you have helped me realize this. I am so glad that you are happy in your own skin and I can not wait until I feel that way. You are so strong for sharing this with us.

  14. Ashley says:

    U r such an inspiration to me!!! I just want to thank u SO much for posting this. I am 5’11 might as well say 6’0 and weigh 263lbs =( this is the heaviest I’ve been in my life I pretty much let myself go in 2009, and now I am tired of being FAT. I would love to lose 100lbs this year but my goal is atleast 60 by summer. Hopefully I can get it done. Thank u again!!

  15. aubrey foster says:

    awesome job! I have fallen way off with a knee injury and have gained weight. Im hoping to run another half marathon and get back on track. Done it before I can do it again 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration.

  16. nikkiwillrunforbeer says:

    You look FABULOUS!
    I started my *real* journey on January 8th. I’ve tried many, many times before. But this is for real.
    I’ve been following you on Fluff to Buff, and now I’m checking our your blog. So inspirational!

    I’m down 27.6 pounds since January 8th, and just registered to run the Warrior Dash on June 29th in MA. ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE!

    xoxo
    Nikki

  17. ashley says:

    Amazing work! I did this same thing in 2008…. Only i did it very unhealthy (jerk bf told me to lose weight or else!) Im trying again now but the right way…i have a few questions. When u work out do u go every day? Do u work out everything every day? Smaller weights or bigger weights? What do you eat on a regulR basis? I need a good solid routine so i can get to work…im finding it hard. Plus im not eating enough good food…please help:\ ive stopped eating red meat and for the most part chicken. No milk… For health reasons. Ive been working out for a month now and for some reason i remember more weight coming off in the first month than this…what about u? I feel like im doing something wrong. I eat about 1800 calories a day. Email me if u can helllp.

    Sincerely,
    215, 5’6 and upseeetttt
    Missashleystolfo@yahoo.com

    • kylethegirl says:

      First of all, a little worried that it says ‘jerk bf’ and not ‘jerk EX-bf.’ Because I don’t need to hear a single thing else about him, he’s terrible, annnnd you can do better. 🙂

      Okay so.

      Yes, I go every day.
      I lift as heavy as I can.
      If you check out my facebook page- http://www.facebook.com/flufftobuff , I wrote a note recently about what I eat. Keep in mind, I’m training for a competition, it is not a recommendation on how one should eat on a day to day basis. You remember more weight coming off the first month the first time around because like you said, you did it the unhealthy way. Who cares if it comes off slow, as long as it comes off?

      Honestly if you have dietary restrictions, you should speak to someone who is TRAINED in these fields. I have no certifications, no training. I know only what worked for me, I am not qualified to tell anyone else what they should do or how they should do it!

      Best of luck girl, don’t give up.

What do YOU think??

