The wait is over!

Man I have loved watching this unfold! I am TERRIBLE at keeping secrets, so there are a handful of people who know what’s going on, but the guesses have been cracking me up! A wedding?? I broke up with my long term boyfriend back in July, that’s definitely not it. Pregnancy?? Again. No boyfriend y’all. Beach trip was a good guess… I LIVE near the beach though, that’s not it. My birthday is in October, so it’s not my birthday trip. A lot of guesses have to do with it being right around a year since I really started losing weight. That’s good too, also not it. TECHNICALLY I started losing weight in February- but I didn’t buckle down until June 10th which is what y’all are thinking. So no, that’s not it πŸ™‚ Of course it will make for some really good one year progress shots!

I guess today is the day, right? I first started playing around with this idea mid to late November, but I didn’t want to say anything until I knew for sure. There are a lot of you out there, and I got into this whole online realm of things for the accountability which has turned out fantastically. So I didn’t want to lead you on and tell you something if I wasn’t going to be making it a reality.

But it’s real now, I had a meeting last night and I made the official decision and it’s INSANE and it’s CRAZY and I still can’t believe that this is happening.

Anybody else concerned that you’re not going to care as soon as I tell you? I didn’t really mean to build it up this much, it just kind of happened. I’m pretty worried you’re all going to be like, THAT’S IT? THAT’S CRAP. Haha.

So I guess we should just do this then.

bikinicomp

Yep. In a little over 5 months, kylethegirl will be on stage- in a bikini competition. Like I said, I just started fooling around with the idea in November… I decided that since I was becoming SO close to my goal WEIGHT, that I needed something else to work for. I googled competitions in the area, and found this one- it’s at the end of June, and in the town I live in meaning no travel necessary. Looking into it a little further, I found out that the event promoter is the guy who used to train my dad! I’ve worked out with him before! So I decided that I was going to at least get in touch with him. When I was finally able to get in touch with him, he told me that he was in the process of building a new gym in the area and that once it was done (slated for mid-December) he’d have me come in and talk to him.

Fast forward to this month. I had shied away from getting in contact with him. I had days where I thought, sure, I can be ready for something like this in 6 months… And other days where I’d think, I am huge, there’s no way this will ever happen- not in June. So I had kind of let the idea go. Then Monday, I get a phone call from a number I don’t recognize, so I don’t answer it. I’m a total screener. It was CJ, saying he’d love to have me come in and talk to him, and to give him a call or text to set something up. I wait a little bit and then text him back, because I’m a pansy little girl, and I said “Hey CJ, sorry I missed your call. I definitely want to get in and talk to you and see the place… I’m starting to have doubts that I could be where I’d need to be by June, but even more than that I know this is a pricey process. It’s still something i totally want to do though, so I guess we should just talk about it!” He texted me back and said “It’s way more cost effective than you can imagine, and second- Never doubt what you can do, this is a professional level program.” I already dig his attitude. We agreed to meet the next day (last night) to talk.

So I met him at his gym and he sticks his hand out to introduce himself. I told him we’d met, that I’ve worked out with him before, he remembers and then says ‘You look a little different.’ I love that haha. Yes, yes I do. 60lbs different. We start off talking about my eating habits, my work out schedule, all that good stuff. He takes notes, writing down everything I say. I feel proud when he asks me how much water I drink a day- I tell him a gallon- and he says ‘Good girl.’

He asks me, ‘What makes this show in June so fabulous for you?’ And I answered him honestly. I told him that for me, it’s not about the contest. It’s not about the competition. I have a vision in my head of what I want to look like, and I’m at the point where I don’t have the knowledge to get there by myself. This show gives me a deadline, it gives me a reason to work ridiculously hard for something I want, and not to let myself lose sight of that and let it go, and it gives me the help I need to do it. I tell him that while I’ve had some doubts about my ability to get my body in the kind of shape it needs to be in to walk on a stage in June, my dad reminded me of something the other day. My dad told me to remember that I’ve lost 50 lbs in the past 6 months- on my own. He said that ends all conversations about what I can or can’t accomplish.

He seemed pleased with this answer, so after the gallon of water a day and that, I feel like I’ve got some points on the board. Then he tells me to never doubt what I can do. He says that I would be shocked at what my body can do and how quickly it can change. And he said that at 25, it’s the perfect time for me to try and push my body in this way.

He addressed the price factor since I had addressed it as a concern, and went through the competition prep package and what it would cost and entail. I had a number in my mind that I wasn’t going to be willing to go over, so when he told me how much it would work out to be each month, and it was under MY number, I told him I was in.

Competition prep is officially 16 weeks, starts March 9th. He told me that had I come to him closer to that March 9th date, that we might have a problem. But since we have 7 weeks before then to play around with, we should be able to do what we need to do. SO HERE’S THE PLAN! Today through Friday I’m logging everything I eat. Macros included- so I’m logging protein, carbs, fats, sodium, calories, all of it. Friday evening I go back to see him, I have to take a bathing suit, heels, shorts, etc.. 😦 Gotsta take pictures and measurements! UGH. Feels super daunting, but I put a bathing suit on last night and I officially didn’t want to die, so. I think I’m okay. He’s going to create a work out plan for me, that I will be able to do at his gym or my own. They’ll hook me up with posing lessons and help me order a suit and heels and tanning and all that good stuff.

Let me reiterate here, I am under no delusion that I will be able to win anything. All I want is to be able to feel like I fit in with the competition. I am perfectly aware that competitions and competition prep is very taxing on some people, and that it affects everyone differently. It may sound naive, but I have a very strong gut feeling that I am going to be able to handle this. Aside from a freak pizza craving the other night, I am REALLY good as far as will power goes. Hell, I’m sitting in a Starbucks right now AND BEFORE YOU SAY ANYTHING- I’m about to go to yoga, it was in the area, I NEEDED THE WI-FI!!!! I got one of the protein boxes, and a bottle of water. THAT’S RIGHT. NO COFFEE! So there. So I think I’ll be fine with him telling me what to eat and how much to eat and all that good stuff. I know my work outs are about to be approximately 150% harder, but I’m ready for that too. I am so mentally ready to take on this task, I want to get to that next step, and I need the help of him and his team to do it. I’ve always been an actress and a singer, so the being on stage isn’t a problem either… Being on the stage half-NAKED will be new, but as long as I’m comfortable in my own skin at that point, I won’t have a problem with that either. Stripper heels should be interesting…

I’m just so ready for this. 6 months ago, I never could have imagined that I would have the body I have right now, today. I love this body, but I want more. So while it’s pretty impossible for me to imagine myself in a position where I could strut my stuff in a bikini in heels on stage, I’ve come to be comfortable with the unexpected. I also have this support system that is unwavering. My mom is so excited for this, she’s so happy to see me doing something I’m so excited about, and to be pushing my body into doing things I never thought I’d be able to do. My dad is supportive, even though I know a little piece of him will probably die inside when I actually am all Barbie’d up and in clear plastic heels, but I know he’s super proud of me too. My sister’s stoked, my best friends that already know are SO encouraging… And then the rest of the internet-land, I know you’ll all support me and be there when I’m having bad days. You’ve all been there since day one, and I’m so grateful for the unending support.

So that’s it you guys, kylethegirl is competing. That’s the next step! Life is about to get SUPER interesting.

So… Was it worth the wait?

21 thoughts on “The wait is over!

  1. notsohappythoughts says:

    totally worth it. you are going to kill this and i am so excited for you. seriously. i am proud of you … and i don’t even “know” you! i hope you soak in every second of the next five months and just revel in how awesome you are and how capable you are. seriously girl. own. every. second.

  2. Ericka Soto says:

    Wow…I wish I could do that too…maybe next year, I still have a long way to go. I think this is great to work for and to do more for yourself vs the winning aspect. GOOD LUCK!! πŸ™‚

  3. Stacie says:

    Totally worth the wait! This is exciting news – can’t wait to follow your journey πŸ™‚ I want to say ‘good luck’ but you don’t need it – you’ve got an awesome attitude and determination like I’ve never seen!

  4. Melissa says:

    l lucked out, I just recently sub to your blog so I kind of missed out on the suspense. If not it would have been worth it still. Congrats on deciding to compete! I love following bikini,figure and fitness competitions. I have couple of fav competitors. My husband is actually looking into entering a bodybuilding or men physique competition himself. I’m kind of twirling around figure in the future in my head, have lost 55lbs so far, still got some ways to go but I so understand what you mean to have something kewl as that to work up to. Good luck and congrats!

  5. Valerie says:

    Way to go, Kyle. You really inspire me! I will definitely go & show my support to this. Hopefully I’ll be thinner as well! πŸ™‚

  6. AmyLou says:

    That is awesome!! For some reason, when I read the part about never doubting what you can do, I got a li’l emotional. Because it’s true! We are capable of so much more than we sometimes let ourselves believe! I look forward to following your progress. I’m impressed!

  7. Catherine Lynn says:

    I am so excited for you Kyle. I wish you the absolute best and I look forward to witnessing you reach this goal too when you share this part of your journey with us. You are going to kill it! xoxox -Catherine

  8. Samantha says:

    that is so exciting!!! not only that, its so motivating, im looking forward to seeing how much MORE progress you make bc i feel like me and you were quite similar, and to see how much you have accomplished makes me try even harder and know that could be me too! sooo good luck and congrats and im anxious to follow you on this new journey! πŸ™‚

  9. Julie says:

    So exciting Kyle! It was worth the wait πŸ™‚
    I am so excited to watch you go through this new phase. As always you are very inspiring πŸ™‚

  10. Joleen Sims says:

    So freaking proud of you Kyle – everyday you’re an inspiration to me – you started where I am – minus a decade but I’m not worried about age. Beyond just being awesome and have done awesome since June – you go and do this and become awesomer – you truly exemplify that ANYTHING is possible if you put your mind to it and want more than any temporary crap life throws at you. You ROCK – I’m excited to follow and chase this tranformation – I’ll be next for certain.

What do YOU think??

