A post for the laaadieeeessss. TMI alert y’all. Men beware.

I wanted to talk to y’all about our favorite 3-10 days of the month haha. I see so many women talking about how hard it is to deal with getting into shape when it’s that time of the month. You get these cravings for the WORST foods that are about as huge as you feel, maddening cramps and migraines, this fatigue that just seems to settle in and take everything out of you- and a short-fused temper to go along with it.

Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t mind that time of the month when it comes to my routine- in fact- I like to take that handful of days and use it to push even harder than usual. I’ve got this really weird theory- let me see if I can explain it and have it make ANY sense whatsoever. I KNOW that if I weigh myself during that week, that I’m going to be pissed. I know it’s not accurate, and it’s just the hormones screwing with me, but I know that AS A WOMAN, that number is going to be 1-5 lbs higher than it would be normally-and that it’s going to piss me off. What I like to do, is go ahead and accept that number into my life temporarily. I know it’s false and that it’s not an accurate assessment of my normal weight, so I just say FINE. Like right now, I’ve been 158-159 consistently for the past month or so- so when the scale said 161 on Sunday and my ‘week’ began on Monday (this is the TMI portion I was talking about. Sorry- but I think it’s important!), I accepted 161 into my life. I’m now taking the week to KICK SOME SERIOUS ASS, that way any weight that I lose will seem like EXTRA WEIGHT! You know what I mean? If I weigh myself when this is all over and I’ve lost two lbs, it’ll SEEM like I’ve lost like five!! Does this make sense? If I end the week at 156, I know I’ll only have lost 2 real lbs (158-156) but since my monthly visitor told me on Sunday I weighed 161, it’s KIND of like I’ll have lost 5 lbs. And WHO doesn’t love losing 5 lbs in one week?

I know it’s faulty logic and it really just comes down to tricking your brain into thinking you’re losing more than you actually are- but I’d much rather lie to myself and pretend to lose five lbs when I’ve only lost two, than to give into Evil Aunt-Flo and end the week up a pound or two because I couldn’t put down the damn candy bars, and have taken that step backwards and be forced to lose that gained weight all over again.

“But Kyle, how the hell am I supposed to say no to the Girl Scout cookies? This is the worst week of the month, I feel like shit, and I want them AND I’M IRRATIONAL AND HUNGRY.” I know- it’s hard. But… Do it anyways. Seriously- that’s the advice I have. Do it anyways! IT’S ALL IN YOUR HEAD. First thing- make sure you get plenty of sleep. We all over-exhaust ourselves on a daily basis anyways, add to it the fact that our bodies are working over-time, you need to make sure to get enough sleep especially if you’re going the ‘push that much harder’ route that I like to take. Pop some ibuprofen in the morning to help with the cramps and/or back aches if that’s the kind of thing you experience, and move on with your day. Get your work out in, no matter what. And when you DO get your work out in, go a little bit harder- a little bit longer than you would if it were just a normal week. Fight what your body is making you go through! Don’t let ‘that time of the month’ win. Don’t let something that your body does every single month for the majority of your life be the excuse you use for not having made any progress. This is something that happens to every single woman on the planet, for the majority of her life. I hate to tell you this, but it is in this way that you are not unique. You are not special, we all know how you feel. And yes, there ARE exceptions to every rule, and if you’re one of the few who get cramps so badly you’re vomiting up blood and can’t walk- then I do apologize- go see your doctor lol. I’m just talking about the average woman with the average cycle.

I made a promise to myself at the beginning of the week that I was going to go to yoga at 6am every morning this week, eat perfectly, lift perfectly, do my cardio and abs every day, and that I wasn’t going to weigh myself ALL WEEK. No scale from Monday to Saturday- and so far, as of 11:30am on Thursday morning, I’ve done just that. I’ve been PERFECT- despite it being the week it is. Better than being perfect with my work outs and my eating during a tough week? I actually feel smaller than I have in a while. Which is ACES because that means when this week is over, and it’s NOT that time of the month, I should feel even better than I do now! And THAT is exciting and enough to keep me going hard through the rest of the week. Progress is progress, and you do NOT have to let biology hold you up from making it.

I know you want to drink a bottle of wine and to eat your bloated weight in chocolate covered pretzels, but seriously? It’s 3-10 days, depending on how lucky or unlucky the universe deemed you- and you can get through it without a hitch. You’ve been battling this monthly inconvenience for YEARS now, you know the symptoms, the pains, the cravings, the emotions, you are more than equipped to kick it’s ass and tell it that it doesn’t dictate your progress.

ANYWAYS. That’s what I have to say about that. :)

4 thoughts on “A post for the laaadieeeessss. TMI alert y’all. Men beware.

  1. Denise M says:

    Loved this post! But I’m the total opposite! My weigh-in during that week are always the highest loss! And that pushes me more!!

  2. Hunni says:

    You are lucky to be able to push through a workout that week. I am totally useless for three days. A small piece of chocolate will take care of any craving, but physically, I am weak, tired, and ineffective. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Samantha says:

    Don’t let that number get in your head! I weigh 161 and I am a size 12! I promise you, your body is looking much better than mine!!! I randomly found you on twitter and have been following for a little while now. Keep it up, you have no idea how many people you are inspiring (including myself!).

What do YOU think??

